TCLA General Discussion Thread 2021-22 (#1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Asil Ahmad

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Forum Winner
  • Mar 29, 2020
    Reactions: Jessica Booker

lawstudent321

Standard Member
    May 6, 2022
    Would be great if I could get some advice on this :) I’m due to begin the LPC in September and want to get a part time job, for example in retail, while I study. I would not be working any more than 12 hours a week. Is this feasible?
    The LPC is pretty intense but no more than 12 hours is manageable. You just have to treat it like a 9-5 (sometimes a few more hours), so as long as you can do the hours alongside balancing whatever else you have going on you will be great! Plus it shows good time management skills for interviews! :) Message me if you have any more questions

reesal98

Nov 2, 2021
    Just wanted to ask a question about the LPC. Unfortunately, I wasn’t successful converting my vac schemes. I studied the GDL this year and will continue applying next year. I’m unsure whether I should do the LPC now. On one of my schemes, I was told that if successful, I would have to take the SQE regardless. I don’t want to waste lots of money self-funding the LPC. However, I’m torn as the SRA says you technically can qualify via LPC route up until 2032. I feel like I’ve just wasted a year doing the GDL as law firms seem pretty stringent on the SQE now. If anyone has advice on this matter, I would be grateful.

Abii

Legendary Member
    Junior Lawyer
    Feb 1, 2021