TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2022-23

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fd321

Esteemed Member
Premium Member
Mar 3, 2023
I went to a CRS open day two months ago and haven't been reimbursed yet . Wanna ask them to forget about the reimbursement and just give me a place on the scheme instead 🤣🤣🤣
(This is obviously a joke, please don't come at me)
I feel like everyone has either gotten an offer or a PFO and I’m just like has my PFO got lost in the post 😂

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
other than emailing what do you do if a firm hasn't sent you the interview link before your interview? 😭
Call - much quicker than relying on email
Hi everyone! Got some slightly unique circumstances and would be really grateful for any advice - without going into too much detail, I have some good legal work experience with my dad's company from a few years ago, which I obviously mentioned on my application forms, but since applying, a whole lot of drama has unfolded and I'm no longer on speaking terms with my dad. I'm now worried about background checks since I'd really prefer that firms didn't contact him (I'm nervous about him knowing my future plans, apart from anything else), but I'm not sure how to bring this up to grad rec, or if it's just something I'm going to have to deal with?

When I've done similar pre-employment checks in the past, I've mentioned that it's my father's company in case it was a conflict of interest for him to give me a reference, but the company just said they had to contact all previous employers and asked him for a reference regardless, which wasn't a problem until now! Obviously I won't be mentioning this work experience in future application cycles to avoid having to deal with this again next year - it's a shame because it's proved useful to talk about in interviews but doesn't seem worth this stress!!