TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2022-23

Status
Not open for further replies.

nathans784

Feb 14, 2023
Hi there, Just wanted to know if I got offered a TC this summer for a September 2025 start date, could I start the SQE in September 2024 and complete it before September 2025? My background is that I have done a history degree followed by GDL and am now working full time. Thanks

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi there, Just wanted to know if I got offered a TC this summer for a September 2025 start date, could I start the SQE in September 2024 and complete it before September 2025? My background is that I have done a history degree followed by GDL and am now working full time. Thanks
Possibly…

You could sit SQE1 in January 2025 and potentially register for SQE2 in April 2025 if you allowed to register for SQE2 without having your SQE1 results (someone else in the forum have said this is possible). At the moment it takes 4-5 months for you to get your SQE2 results, and so if you need to have confirmation you have passed SQE2 before starting your TC, the July SQE2 sitting would be too late.

The SRA’s website says you can’t book SQE2 until you have SQE1 results though, so if this is the case, you have to hope their is availability to register for SQE2 late on or that your firm will allow you to start your TC without your SQE2 results for the time lines to work.

Last edited:
Reactions: laurabeaumont

nathans784

Feb 14, 2023
Possibly…

You could sit SQE1 in January 2025 and potentially register for SQE2 in April 2025 if you allowed to register for SQE2 without having your SQE1 results (someone else in the forum have said this is possible). At the moment it takes 4-5 months for you to get your SQE2 results, and so if you need to have confirmation you have passed SQE2 before starting your TC, the July SQE2 sitting would be too late.