TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2023-24

axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Are in-person law fairs truly worth it? I have a university fair today but have come down with an awful cold. I'm a recent graduate and no longer live in the same city so would have to travel a few hours to attend. For one firm, it's the only in-person opportunity to engage with recruitment but I can't help but feel they're meeting so many people at once that they'd likely never remember me anyway.

Am I really missing out if I don't go?
It is a really cool opportunity to be meeting the firm and graduate recruitment but it is not in the slightest the only option to get through application stages so I would say that if you are sick, just take care of yourself! I got through law firms applications to firms I did not attend any events and did not know anyone there so it is the norm for many of us! Take care and good luck with the application cycle!

bella98

Legendary Member
  • Mar 9, 2023
    I've just received a rejection email from HSF after attending their AC. To say I'm disappointed would be an understatement, especially since I felt the process went rather positively. According to their feedback, I performed well in the scenario-based interview and I really showcased my skills in the competency-based interview. I'm genuinely so confused right now. The case study might not have been my strongest point, but I genuinely believed I'd done enough to prove my worth.

I've dedicated six years to legal education, pouring my heart, soul, time, and energy into the field. I've seized every opportunity that came my way, and I've always tried to give my best in every situation. It feels disheartening to continually face rejections, especially after investing so much into a firm I truly admired.