2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

AH97

Esteemed Member
Junior Lawyer
Jul 30, 2019
Hi all,

I have my first ever AC next week and I am a non-law student! I was wondering if anyone could give me any advice on how best to prepare for it or point me in the way of any websites which could help me :) Thank you!

Congratulations! I'm not sure what your AC will involve but I'd definitely google some basic contracts just to get familiar with their layout, the language, the sections and subsections, etc. Also, basic M&A knowledge is always helpful!

Sekani Wraith

Valued Member
Aug 26, 2020
I’ve not done a case study at Bakers but my experience of doing one was that it aligns quite closely with the firms core practice areas. The case study I did had lots of different elements (including some M&A) but it was definitely more advisory and just spotting potential commercial problems and where the firm could help.

For example, mine centred on an influencer who ran a coffee business and had a joint venture with a friend who created a new product. You had do deal with all the potential problems involved in the multilayered case so yeah, I’d advise reading up on the firm’s core areas and reading the news and maybe brushing up on things like balance sheets etc as they can be used in case studies! Sorry if I’m rambling, well done and good luck! ⭐️

This was super helpful, thank you very much!!

• 🤝
Reactions: thirdtimelucky

OB

Legendary Member
2020 Community Winner
Junior Lawyer
  • Feb 10, 2020
    Has anyone heard from CMS post VI?

I was wondering how long it took after the email 'this confirms we received your video interview'. On the app portal it's been saying 'reviewed' since last week!
    It took me 6 weeks to hear back post-VI and a few weeks of it it showed as reviewed in the portal. I wouldn't stress :)

KM74

Dec 28, 2020