TCLA General Discussion Thread 2021-22 (#1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi! I'm a final year law student and was wondering when I should start looking/applying for graduate roles i.e. legal assistant/paralegal roles?
I would recommend to start applying for roles about 8 weeks before you are ready to start a job.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Does anyone know the average salary of an in house trainee in London?
Unfortunately it will vary a lot by organisation - an asset manager/investment bank is likely to be paying much higher than a public sector organisation. Glassdoor might be best the way to try and find out based on the sector that TC is based in.

TCApp2021

Legendary Member
Dec 21, 2021
Would appreciate any thoughts on the following- I've missed some of the deadlines for VCs so was going to apply for direct TCs for some firms. A partner at a US firm (from a mentoring scheme I'm on) has mentioned that it might be best to hold off until Sep 2022 and apply to VCs then rather than direct TC now, given that the intake is a lot lower. They suggested that it might be detrimental to apply both now for a direct TC and then a VC in next window as reapplying
to firms lowers chances of progressing.

Thanks!

djqb

Legendary Member
Sep 6, 2020
Would appreciate any thoughts on the following- I've missed some of the deadlines for VCs so was going to apply for direct TCs for some firms. A partner at a US firm (from a mentoring scheme I'm on) has mentioned that it might be best to hold off until Sep 2022 and apply to VCs then rather than direct TC now, given that the intake is a lot lower. They suggested that it might be detrimental to apply both now for a direct TC and then a VC in next window as reapplying
to firms lowers chances of progressing.

Thanks!