Discouraged

yanerlim

Valued Member
Sep 4, 2018
Here's some background, I graduated from Cardiff Uni with a low 2:1, my module marks have a mixture of 2:2 and 2:1, and went on to do my LLM in UoB. My A-Levels were pretty mediocre with an ABBB (doing four subjects actually saved me from a few applications because firms often want AAB) However, when it comes to applying to firms like Allen & Overy and Slaughter & May, which have a reputation of hiring trainees from Oxbridge or 1st class students from Russell Group unis with immaculate A-Levels results, I feel discouraged and wonder if there is much point in applying when I can focus my efforts on other firms.

Can anyone advise me if I should go on with my A&O / S&M application or my chances are still pretty high on gaining a vacation scheme spot with them?

LawGal

Sep 13, 2018
Here's some background, I graduated from Cardiff Uni with a low 2:1, my module marks have a mixture of 2:2 and 2:1, and went on to do my LLM in UoB. My A-Levels were pretty mediocre with an ABBB (doing four subjects actually saved me from a few applications because firms often want AAB) However, when it comes to applying to firms like Allen & Overy and Slaughter & May, which have a reputation of hiring trainees from Oxbridge or 1st class students from Russell Group unis with immaculate A-Levels results, I feel discouraged and wonder if there is much point in applying when I can focus my efforts on other firms.

Can anyone advise me if I should go on with my A&O / S&M application or my chances are still pretty high on gaining a vacation scheme spot with them?