Future Query- qualifying into office abroad permanently?

l789

Aug 19, 2020
Hi everyone,

I know this is quite forward thinking and there’s a lot to consider ( I may change my mind later and decide I don’t want this ) but… I was just wondering, would it be possible, after the two year training contract to qualify into a firms office abroad as a NQ on a permanent basis?

I understand the barriers with visa reqs and being in a different jurisdiction, and the firms business needs/ type of work.

I was just wondering if this was possible at all- if for arguments sake I did want to leave the UK. Do firms allow permanent internal transfers? Are there any firms ( I know there are people at Latham who have done this) that would consider this request at all or know people who have made the move?

(Also want to make clear, as ridiculous as this post may be as I’m only a student, right now my main priorities are obtaining a vac scheme/training contract and I’m focusing on that, but I just wanted to inquire.)

Last edited:
Reactions: axelbeugre

axelbeugre

Legendary Member
Staff member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Sep 14, 2023
Hi everyone,

I know this is quite forward thinking and there’s a lot to consider ( I may change my mind later and decide I don’t want this ) but… I was just wondering, would it be possible, after the two year training contract to qualify into a firms office abroad as a NQ on a permanent basis?

I understand the barriers with visa reqs and being in a different jurisdiction, and the firms business needs/ type of work.

I was just wondering if this was possible at all- if for arguments sake I did want to leave the UK. Do firms allow permanent internal transfers? Are there any firms ( I know there are people at Latham who have done this) that would consider this request at all or know people who have made the move?