Is it worth self-funding SQE1+2 after GDL? / please help me figure out a strategy

eclectic04

Dec 6, 2021
Hi, if anyone can help me, I would be very grateful. I just finished my PGDL last month, which was entirely self-funded as I didn’t apply for VS/TC during undergrad. I also made a terrible mistake by not applying for VS during my GDL year because I didn’t feel “ready”. (I have a 1:1 Oxbridge degree and some okay work experience but I have self-esteem and perfectionism issues about not being good enough for the firms I want.)

I’m 100% set on being a solicitor; I just don’t know what to do next to rescue myself and secure a TC. Should I self fund the SQE1+2 next and fire out as many VS/TC applications while I’m studying for them? Or should I take a gap year and give my whole heart out to applying? Am I better off trying to Paralegal? Do any of these options look better or worse from a recruiters POV?

I was set on the self-funding SQE route initially, and had found a BPP SQE1&2 prep course that starts this fall but would it make sense to start in September (and sit the SQE1 in January) when I want to be working on vac scheme apps + doing interviews / assessment centres throughout this time period? Esp since summer VS interviews usually fall around Jan…

I could possibly delay the SQE prep course until their February start (to sit SQE1 in July) but then risk the SQE1 July exam period overlapping with any summer vacation schemes I might have scheduled (if by miracle I secure anything).

I feel a bit lost. If anyone has any thoughts on my dilemma I would appreciate loads as everything feels rather nebulous lately <3

TheLawApplicant

Jun 27, 2023