Work Experience in Paris vs. LLM at the LSE

Susy

Gold Member
Premium Member
Aug 12, 2021
Hello! I have completed a double degree in English (LLB) and French Law (undergraduate and Master 1) at the Universities of Leicester and Strasbourg respectively. I am now doing a Master 2 at the University of Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne. I have an internship lined up with an English headquartered international law firm in Paris for July-December 2023 and an LLM at the LSE. Thus, I now have to choose. Ultimately, I wish to obtain a training contract in London at an international law firm. Which would you advise is the better option? They both have pros and cons and I have heard that law firms do not place too much importance on work experience abroad as much as just a degree from a reputable university in the UK.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I’d actually argue the work experience will be much more impactful than the LLM, especially given you already have this level of qualification.

Assuming you are a non-U.K. citizen and don’t have the right to work in the U.K., the only tangible benefit of the LSE LLM is that it will allow you to work in the U.K. for up to two years after graduation.

Law firms in London generally do not care for postgraduate studies. You should do them for your own personal reasons rather than hoping they will improve your profile as an applicant.

Susy

Gold Member
Premium Member
Aug 12, 2021
I’d actually argue the work experience will be much more impactful than the LLM, especially given you already have this level of qualification.

Assuming you are a non-U.K. citizen and don’t have the right to work in the U.K., the only tangible benefit of the LSE LLM is that it will allow you to work in the U.K. for up to two years after graduation.