TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2023-24

sibs23

Legendary Member
Jan 15, 2021
Has anyone else not had any ac invites this cycle yet? I feel like I see so many peoples successes (congrats to them!) But the reality for some of us (especially non law final years) is that not everyone has an invite yet?

Idk I just guess I'm tired of feeling alone in this when I'm following every piece of advice online and still being rejected?
Hey, yes, I am a grad, but same here. An AC would probs give me a much needed boost right now. However, I have more firms I am waiting on than ones I've had PFOs from so I'm just trying not to focus on worrying too much (even though it's hard!). I'm also planning on doing a lot of direct TC apps as well. Remember, it only takes one yes! It does take time to work out which firm is right for you. Looking back at firms I've been rejected from before, I now realise that I probs wasn't a good fit for those firms.

futuretrainee2024

Legendary Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
  • Dec 2, 2022
    From my experience, I think the short answer is no and I wouldn’t bother looking too deep into this tbh. Writing an application for a law firm vs law essays are completely different. The former requires concise, tailored, succinct writing style and the latter requires a more detailed, analytical, comprehensive writing style. If anything, law students struggle to change their writing style and therefore struggle with applications. If I knew you didn’t need a law degree to get into commercial law, I would’ve probably done economics or business (would’ve helped me better with commercial awareness) or even a STEM degree (very helpful in niche areas of commercial law, like IP, life sciences, energy, etc)
    Thank you so much for your response!

futuretrainee2024

Legendary Member
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
  • Dec 2, 2022