Hearing Back from Law Firms, Assessment Centres & Interview Tips - 2019 - 2020

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frank

Valued Member
Dec 12, 2018
Slightly frustrating that out of my two ACs over the last week, which were meant to accomodate for non-law students, both involved two case studies over contracts and in-depth discussion of clauses/indemnities etc.. I know some law will be involved, just feel that its a lot harder being non-law sometimes

I would agree with you, but to be blunt, you need to know what these entail because eventually you might work in the legal profession. It's like I'm a law student, want to work in financial regulation at the BoE/ECB, but cannot explain how monetary policy works. The degree studied shouldn't be an excuse for the questions asked during an interview, and the legal questions you might encounter can come up on Google; then, you can research them by yourself. Clauses/indemnities are Y1 courses from the first semester, they're not asking details about specific things, e.g. if the UK regime is too favourable for hostile takeovers - which tbh, I wouldn't know how to answer that question had I not studied corporate finance at uni.

Reactions: Serah O, Jade and Alaw96

EEE

Star Member
Future Trainee
Jun 4, 2019
Is anyone still waiting to hear from these firms?
  • Linklaters (summer)
  • Norton Rose Fulbright (spring)
  • Baker McKenzie (summer)
  • Morrison & Foerster (summer)
At what point is it appropriate to call (or perhaps email?) graduate recruitment to ask about when we should expect to hear back by? I know that Bakers said we would receive a test invite by Jan 30th, but I haven't had anything but a confirmation email from the rest, which I submitted towards the beginning of the month. This is my first time ever applying and I'm a non-law student, so I'm a bit unsure!

Well done everyone on successes so far!

xxk97DE

Jan 24, 2020