Extremely bad A-level results and non RG university

Siim

Aug 20, 2023
I don't know where to start, this is my first time using this website so I'm not sure if I am posting this correctly. I am 19 years old and my A-level results are BCD in Biology, Chemistry and Maths. I was pressured into STEM A-levels even though I am way better at the humanities, I really enjoy reading, writing (I have a fanfiction on ao3 with over a million reads), analysing texts, classics etc.

I am really interested in studying Law and becoming a lawyer in the future in London, it's a dream. However, because of my A-level grades I got offered a place at a non Russel group university, it's not too bad It's Keele university. But after doing research I highly doubt I can become a solicitor or get a training offer, because of my Uni and grades, do I have a small chance?

How hard is it to get a 1st in a law degree? Maybe after getting a 1st at Keele University I can do a masters at a high ranking Russel group university where A-levels won't be considered post graduate? Would that be a possibility? Or should I do completely different A-levels whilst at University? I'm just really confused at the moment. Please can I have some advice on what to do? Thank you for reading.

Reactions: Darren Bruce-Tagoe

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Your route to law is very possible - I have seen people do it from non RG unis and with similar A-level grades to yourself.

I would advise against doing A-levels and your degree at the same time though - realistically to do well in either you really need to focus on one or the other and there is a high risk of not doing either as well as you want to, and that is a wasted year and a lot of money.

So my general advice is if you are going to resit your A-levels, take a gap year and then go to uni.