Personal Injury Paralegal Work?

maddogrobbo

Apr 25, 2024
I am a final-year law student and, despite a few ACs, I haven't been able to secure any training contracts. I am a little worried about the way forward and what to do when I graduate. I have the opportunity to paralegal at a small regional personal injury firm. However, I wanted to know how this type of work experience is received by big firms. Would it be a boon or a burden to my applications in the next cycle? I also have another tutoring role that I would be able to do full-time, giving me more time for applications. Which would be a better option if I want to work in commercial law in the city? (Personal injury paralegaling or tutoring and applying myself more to applications.)

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I am a final-year law student and, despite a few ACs, I haven't been able to secure any training contracts. I am a little worried about the way forward and what to do when I graduate. I have the opportunity to paralegal at a small regional personal injury firm. However, I wanted to know how this type of work experience is received by big firms. Would it be a boon or a burden to my applications in the next cycle? I also have another tutoring role that I would be able to do full-time, giving me more time for applications. Which would be a better option if I want to work in commercial law in the city? (Personal injury paralegaling or tutoring and applying myself more to applications.)
It’s not going to be a burden - it’s only going to be a positive. You will need to ensure your motivational answers are very clear on why a different type of law though.

You have to consider what to do based on your circumstances though. If the tutoring work is better for you, then this is still going to be valuable work experience that will develop transferable skills.

Maryem1998!

Standard Member
Feb 12, 2024