tatianavlt

Mar 23, 2024
Hello everyone!

I'm an international student, who will graduate this September from a university outside the UK. I have studied an LLB and Master's degree in law from a top University in France. I have significant experience in common law, having completing a 2 year Diploma on the topic during my undergrad where I studied Contract, Property and Tort Law. As well as having spent my first year of Master in University College London (UCL) for an exchange program, where I studied Commercial Law, Conflict of Law and Company Law. Through my studies I also have a good knowledge of comparative law (encompassing both civil and common law jurisdictions), european law, and international law.

My long term goal is to qualify as a solicitor in London.

However, I understand the challenges I face as an international student (and more and more any student) in securing a Training Contract. As such, I am applying to Training contracts and Graduate apprenticeships, as well as Paralegal and Legal Assistant roles. I would like to know if there is any feasibility in the path I want to take, as I'm aware that my chances might be limited due to my background and difficulty to secure sponsorship, considering the current visa requirements.

I'm keen to explore all possible avenues to work in the UK and would greatly appreciate any advice or insights you might have. What alternative options exist if securing a training contract, apprenticeship, paralegal or legal assistant role doesn't work out? It is important to know that I cannot fund the SQE by myself or with the help of my family, as I have already took out a loan previously for my studies.

Additionally, I'm very interested in hearing from or about international students who, without prior studies in the UK, managed to secure a training contract. It would be especially encouraging to learn about those who have succeeded in this endeavor.

Thank you so much for your time and any guidance you can offer!