securing a vacation scheme/training contract as overseas student - advise needed!

Alexahills

Jan 9, 2019
Hi everyone,

I am an overseas student with an LL.B. from a Dutch university and have recently moved to the UK and am now wondering whether anyone could shed some light on my chances of getting into a vacation scheme/training contract here?

As I have a non-qualifying law degree, I was also wondering whether it would increase my chances if I would self-fund the GDL (or an LL.M.?) and then apply for vacation schemes/training contracts? Unfortunately, I thought I could increase my chances by getting into a paralegal/legal assistant positions in the UK but despite strong academics and some work experiences at university, I have so far not had any luck
frown.png

Thank you for any help!!

AJ

Legendary Member
Sep 11, 2018
Hi everyone,

I am an overseas student with an LL.B. from a Dutch university and have recently moved to the UK and am now wondering whether anyone could shed some light on my chances of getting into a vacation scheme/training contract here?

As I have a non-qualifying law degree, I was also wondering whether it would increase my chances if I would self-fund the GDL (or an LL.M.?) and then apply for vacation schemes/training contracts? Unfortunately, I thought I could increase my chances by getting into a paralegal/legal assistant positions in the UK but despite strong academics and some work experiences at university, I have so far not had any luck
frown.png

Thank you for any help!!

To answer the first part, as good a chance as anyone else, as long as the rest of your application is strong (i.e. how you present work experience/skills and answer the form questions).