TCLA Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion Thread 2021-22 (#1)

Status
Not open for further replies.

therealellewoods

Distinguished Member
  • Jan 20, 2022
    Thanks so much for your insight. I'm feeling a lot more positive about the application process now
    You’re welcome! Sorry I meant to say mine is actually a national firm - and I have no prior experience in commercial so yeah you’ll be fine and don’t even write off VS’s yet hopefully you’ll get one anyways 🤩

OB

Legendary Member
    2020 Community Winner
    Junior Lawyer
  • Feb 10, 2020
    Thanks so much for your insight. I'm feeling a lot more positive about the application process now
    Just to balance out, I found it really hard to secure a legal role post graduating (graduating in 2020 didn't help too) and spent a year and now have an administrative role in a large law firm. My experience is based on London though

RachelLouise22

Distinguished Member
    Jan 30, 2021
    Just to balance out, I found it really hard to secure a legal role post graduating (graduating in 2020 didn't help too) and spent a year and now have an administrative role in a large law firm. My experience is based on London though
    I can second this, I found the paralegal market in my city (Leeds) difficult to access and highly competitive. I had to take an assistants role first and leverage this into paralegaling about 7 months after graduating. It definitely helps if you have a language skill the role requires (I definitely do not). For me, I edged out other candidates by having experience working for a large client of the department I work in but this is quite niche (social housing) so if you have any unique skills/experiences I’d try use those!

Abii

Legendary Member
    Junior Lawyer
    Feb 1, 2021