Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hello! How would you word why you chose not to go into immigration law after an experience on an application? I want to say that it was too emotional but it seems too negative at the application stage. I mainly didn't want to go in because it was frustrating to work with legal aid, emotionally challenging, and felt like putting a bandaid on a gaping wound. Not sure how to make it less negative.
Focus more on what commercial law does give you rather than what immigration law does not. E,g, "I want to work in a more pragmatic and cerebral environment".

Reactions: ScoUting

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi everyone, I'm looking for some advice. I am a third year law student, and I feel like I have zero chance to secure a summer vacation scheme this year. Although, I had planned and envisioned it for myself, I did not put in much effort to get fully immersed into preparing for applications and developing my commercial awareness during the autumn term. I know that I only have myself to blame for this but I think the reason I have found myself in this spot is because I wasn't fully convinced that commercial law was the career route I definitely wanted to take. However, I am much surer now but I feel like I am inexperienced and extremely underprepared for applications. I have not managed to complete the work experience I initially planned for myself nor have I researched my top choice firms in much detail and I also have not completed any virtual schemes/commercial awareness programmes. I feel super defeated and disappointed with myself but I just can't let this application season completely go to waste so I think I will still attempt to submit at least 3 applications (even though they'll be of poor quality) to the firms I was interested in whose deadlines still remai