Hearing Back from Law Firms, Assessment Centres & Interview Tips - 2019 - 2020

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen E C

Esteemed Member
Sep 6, 2018
Hey guys, I'm in a really sticky situation right now...
I know this might sound ungrateful to some but I'm thinking of not attending an interview at Macfarlanes which I have been offered. I'm going through a lot of stress right now and suffer from anxiety. I have already secured a vac scheme with DLA Piper and have been rejected from Freshfields. I prepared a lot for the Freshfields AC and I still did not get it and so I really don't want to think about preparing for the Macfarlanes one to that extent since I just cannot 'wing' it. The thought of going through this again is actually making me very stressed right now. I honestly am happy with having one vac scheme this year. I know Macfarlanes have a small intake and given the type of interview is about thinking on your feet (something I am not good at), I doubt I would get it anyway.
I don't know, I feel like my mind is kind of made up but I just wanted to share to know what some of you think about this... any thoughts would be really appreciated. Thank you!

Perhaps instead of focusing on the outcome of the AC, you could view it as an opportunity to improve the 'thinking on your feet' aspect that you don't feel as confident with, particularly as you are content with having DLA. I have done the AC and feel it was quite nice, in that everyone is incredibly friendly and they don't try to trip you up or grill you at any stage. Before each task, grad rec even go through which skills they are evaluating. You did incredibly well getting through to all those ACs, they clearly see potential in you.

On the other hand, only you know your mind and what's best for you. If you really don't feel up to it, there's no need to push it; mental health should take priority.

Law

Feb 14, 2020