2020-21 Vacation Scheme Applications Discussion

Status
Not open for further replies.

tk166

Esteemed Member
Jul 17, 2020
I disagree. If you look at conversion rates following first year schemes for law firms, many people on first year schemes don't actually manage to secure vac schemes. You definitely still have a good chance. I didn't know the first thing about commercial law in first year, didn't do any open days let alone first year schemes, so I really wouldn't see that as a disadvantage in any way.
Yeah of course, I mean I’m in final year and didn’t attend a single event until last july and have received multiple vac scheme offers so its very very possible. What I meant with what I said was that in the future the firms will have to somehow differentiate between excellent candidates since competition will only increase and this is one of the ways of doing so that other industries have chosen to use is all

CareerChanger

Valued Member
Junior Lawyer
  • Jan 5, 2021
    No. A lot of firms are not moving to the SQE until 2024 as far as I am aware.

Firms who sponsor the LPC will provide an equivalent sponsorship for the SQE, depending on how they are preferring to train people. Some people are learning on the job, some people are only doing SQE1 before a TC, some firms are saying you have to pass SQE 1 and 2 before starting a TC.
    I get confused about where this leaves non-law graduates who are looking at having to do a conversion. Would this year's cohort be a GDL, subsequent years a conversion course incorporating SQE?

NA27

Star Member
    Gold Member
    Premium Member
    Apr 19, 2020
    Hi everyone, just wanted a bit of advice.