TCLA General Discussion Thread #2 (2021)

Status
Not open for further replies.

p9b

Star Member
Junior Lawyer
Dec 29, 2019
So I am getting a bit worried because I have received my formal vac scheme letter and on it, it says they will contact employers for references. I currently work as a paralegal within a small firm and had already booked off my vac scheme week and said I was going on holiday as I did not want my employers to know. If I do not end up getting the training contract, it clearly shows my current employers that I have intentions to leave which I do not think reflects well. Has anyone been in a similar situation? If I call grad rec to explain this do you think they will understand me not informing my employers?

A

Anon 11031

So I am getting a bit worried because I have received my formal vac scheme letter and on it, it says they will contact employers for references. I currently work as a paralegal within a small firm and had already booked off my vac scheme week and said I was going on holiday as I did not want my employers to know. If I do not end up getting the training contract, it clearly shows my current employers that I have intentions to leave which I do not think reflects well. Has anyone been in a similar situation? If I call grad rec to explain this do you think they will understand me not informing my employers?
I'm sure that @Jessica Booker will have some advice on this.

However, I think the best thing to do in this situation is to be honest with your employer. Mainly because there can be conflicts of interest and, if I'm not mistaken, most employment contracts require you to disclose when you take up any other form of work. Which, arguably, a vac scheme is (especially considering lots of them pay).