Acquisition financing

traineeintraining

Star Member
Oct 29, 2019
Hi this is going to sound really dumb but i'm doing the M&A course on here to prep for an interview and could someone clarify if equity financing involves selling shares of the target company or is the buyer selling shares of 'themselves' ?

M777

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Jul 15, 2019
I believe equity finance is (roughly) the buyer selling shares in themselves to raise capital for an acquisition (but might be wrong- I've got an AC coming up so this helps me revise haha). I think what you mentioned (selling shares of the target company) is more to do with the structure of the acquisition itself, because you can acquire the target either through a share purchase agreement or by purchasing assets.

Might not be completely accurate, I'm no expert!

Dheepa

Legendary Member
Staff member
Future Trainee
TCLA Moderator
Premium Member
Forum Team
M&A Bootcamp
Junior Lawyer 43
  • Jan 20, 2019
    No such thing as a dumb question on this forum! ☺️

Equity financing generally means that a company is choosing to sell a stake/part of its shares to raise money. If I remember correctly, the M&A course on TCLA is merely referring to the ways in which the buyer can choose to raise money (debt/equity) for the acquisition, but generally you can understand the term equity financing both from the perspective of the buyer and the seller.

Buyers using equity financing for the acquisition may either be selling a direct stake in the shares to investors or could choose to do an IPO listing (which is also a sale of shares, just on a public share market). For the target company, the sale of part of their shares, or maybe all of their shares is also in a sense equity financing, because they too are raising money through that sale of shares.