Bad A-level grades, 2:2 first year, insight schemes rejections - any way to help myself?

PutItThereMan

Standard Member
Jun 7, 2022
Hi all. Just finished my first year, got 53%. Was gutted because I thought I'd have scraped a 2:1, I received BBC in my A-levels. I am aiming for commercial law, however, I do have interest in criminal law (so if anyone has any advice for that too). I applied for a good six or so insight schemes with Law firms, that 'don't look at A-level results' being Macfarlanes, Mishcon De Reya etc. and had been rejected by all of them. I have not been able to get in-person work experience, I have a lot of virtual work experience. Attended virtual insight days. I have some extra-curriculars too.

Definitely will try and get a 2:1 next year, can't fix my A-levels. Any advice on what I can do during the summer? I don't want to waste my time. I've been asking local small firms for work experience, a few have said they're not offering any at the moment.

I know A-levels and poor first year grades are a delay in my journey, if anyone has a similar story of how they managed to get a TC would be greatly appreciated.

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
My view is that the priority has to be getting your grades up first. I wouldn’t over commit to extra curriculars and work experience if that is at the expense of your academics - it will be important to get them to a 2.1 level first, and if you do, then spend time on other areas.

PutItThereMan

Standard Member
Jun 7, 2022
My view is that the priority has to be getting your grades up first. I wouldn’t over commit to extra curriculars and work experience if that is at the expense of your academics - it will be important to get them to a 2.1 level first, and if you do, then spend time on other areas.