Concerned final year law student

lawful_neutral216

Valued Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Nov 5, 2020
Hi all,

I am relatively new to the forum. I am a law student studying at a Scottish University and going into my final and fourth year in September 2021. I am also an international student. I have attended a few Open days in my first and second year, however, I was unable to secure a Vacation scheme for this year. I have extenuating circumstances going on at the moment due to which I have been unable to apply for any direct TC 2023 applications either. My questions are:

1) If I decide to apply in the upcoming cycle (direct TC/ Spring or Summer VS), the only opportunities available to me seem to be for a TC starting in 2024. Considering I graduate in May 2022, I am uncertain how this will work out. Are there any firms/opportunities that I can apply for in the upcoming cycle that will enable me to start a TC in late 2023?
2) Because I am a Scots law student, will I be able to take the GDL + LPC (with some exemptions) route or will I have to take the SQE route?

I would extremely appreciate if I could get some guidance on the following. If any other final year students/international students are in the same boat, I would love to speak and get to know more about options that can be considered!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Hi all,

I am relatively new to the forum. I am a law student studying at a Scottish University and going into my final and fourth year in September 2021. I am also an international student. I have attended a few Open days in my first and second year, however, I was unable to secure a Vacation scheme for this year. I have extenuating circumstances going on at the moment due to which I have been unable to apply for any direct TC 2023 applications either. My questions are: