Foreign educated law graduate

Wajahat Jilani

Star Member
Jun 15, 2020
Hi,
I am an Indian law graduate and have recently completed my LLM from King’s College London. I have been applying for TC’s and VC recently but have already received rejections. I am aware of the immense competition. However, I also wish to be realistic with my options. Most law firms I meet say they accept international students. However, I am unsure if they mean UK educated international students, specifically undergraduate.

I am beginning to think that perhaps my undergraduate marks are resulting in my rejections. Is there a way for someone from TCLA to have a look please and suggest if that might be the case?

Regards
Wajahat

Reactions: TraineeCityLawyer

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
Vac schemes are probably almost impossible for you to be considered for unless you have the right to work in the U.K. Firms are unlikely to spend several thousand pounds on a visa for someone coming into the firm for a couple of weeks.

Training contracts will be a different matter. Feel free to PM me with your grades and I can let you know if that could be an issue.

stephanie55

May 18, 2021
Vac schemes are probably almost impossible for you to be considered for unless you have the right to work in the U.K. Firms are unlikely to spend several thousand pounds on a visa for someone coming into the firm for a couple of weeks.

Training contracts will be a different matter. Feel free to PM me with your grades and I can let you know if that could be an issue.
Hi Jessica! I am a law student from Indonesia (currently studying at Universitas Gadjah Mada) who is interested to apply for Training Contracts in the UK. Do you think I have a chance to get accepted? Thank you!!

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019