How to add substance to my CV

Esporia

• Sep 9, 2021
    Hi, im a first year LLB student and whilst strong academically, i have very literally no work experience or extracurriculars. Work experience at my sixth form was cancelled due to covid and i recieved my firm offer rather early so didn't see any need to do any. Im currently looking to apply to first-year schemes such as SPARK, however i have nothing to add any substance to my CV, for questions on application forms, and even if i got through initial screening id have nothing to talk about in an interview. Could someone give me a very short bullet point list of things i can do starting from now to make me a strong candidate for first year schemes outside of academics. I was currently thinking about entering mooting competitions, boxing, and perhaps trying to become a first-year rep for the law society? Although, even if i was successful in all of these, i would still have a pretty lackluster application. I would greatly appreciate any feedback so i can stop worrying and get to buffing up my CV :)

Kubed

Legendary Member
    Future Trainee
    Forum Winner
    Junior Lawyer 49
  • Nov 25, 2020
    Hey - all of the things you have suggested sound great, not just for law firm applications but also just to have as experiences for yourself. I would say that you should try to do things that interest you and if they contribute towards your applications, that's all the better. Other activities you might consider: pro bono through a university legal advice centre, writing for a law-related website/blog, virtual vac schemes through Legal Cheek or experiences on Forage, attending other law firm open days, doing a team sport, helping to organise student events or conferences, trying to find informal legal work experience.

Reactions: Esporia

Esporia

• Sep 9, 2021