Low grades in two-three subjects, primarily as those Profs are generally known for marking low in my University. Should I explain this in my TC App?

born&raised

Valued Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Junior Lawyer
Nov 30, 2021
Hello! :D

I am an international student currently studying a law degree outside UK. I was planning to apply for TC Apps in my final year. While I have decent academics throughout (marks equivalent to 2:1 in most subjects), there are a couple subjects where I have gotten marks in the range of 40-50.

While there are a few people who have scored better of course, the reason for these low grades is primarily that the teachers of those subjects are known to mark very stringently- more than 50 percent of the class received marks in the range of 40-50 in those subjects. However, barring these couple of subjects, I have scored between 65-70 in most subjects. My overall percentage would come to 2:1.

Should I explain this reason somewhere in my applications? With this academic record, are there any firms I should avoid applying to? Thanks :)

M777

Legendary Member
Premium Member
Jul 15, 2019
if you're averaging 65-70 you'll be fine anyway.

I'm from a UK uni that is notoriously harsh on marking (they even sent out a letter to firms asking them to account for this). I'd probably save any explanations for mitigating circumstances you had, but also maybe provide an academic reference to discuss your lower marks with the firms if needed.

I'm not a graduate recruitment expert tho so there's people who can provide a much better answer on here :)

Reactions: born&raised

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019