Reapplying to firms

moxiebobo

Star Member
Premium Member
Jan 30, 2020
Hi all,

I am in third year and planning to reapply to a number of firms I applied to last year. I had both a vac scheme this summer and summer internship (same company as in years prior) so I do have new experiences.

My query is how much I should be changing my applications from the previous years. K&E, for instance, is 1200 words of material all of which I put a lot of time and effort into last year - it also got me to the video interview. Questions like "what is your proudest achievement?" are difficult to reanswer as I have put my best answer done already.

Any clarification on this topic would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you.

Reactions: GM

Ahi88

Future Trainee
  • Feb 29, 2020
    This is a very tricky question because your previous application to K&E progressed you through to the video interview stage and you do not want to fall in the trap of 'reinventing the wheel'.

Personally, I think some questions warrant themselves to be changed/amended more than others. For example, if the question of "Why law", "Why this firm" or "Which practice area appeals to you" ever comes up, you most definitely should change them to comment on how your recent experiences such as your vac scheme and summer internship have contributed towards your motivations up to the point that you are applying.

With questions like "what is your proudest achievement", I think it would be fine to keep this largely the same. However, what may be altered or changed could perhaps be the structure and how it may read. Although your content may be fine, there is always room for improvement on every single application ti ensure that what you are saying is conveyed in the best way possible.