What should my next course of action be?

Samuelz1066

Apr 14, 2024
I'm currently a first year student studying history and politics at the University of Warwick, I plan on doing a law conversion after graduation. Right now, I feel like I'm struggling in that direction. All of my first year scheme applications have failed and right now, I just don't see how I could get into a vacation scheme or training contract in the future. I have a decent amount of work experience, the only issue that most of them don't really correlate with law, they're more like applicable skills. This whole thing is confusing me. I try getting into internships and nothing works. I have entered into a few events which gave insight but they weren't like law firm schemes. I want the truth here, have I failed already?

Jessica Booker

Legendary Member
TCLA Moderator
Gold Member
Graduate Recruitment
Premium Member
Forum Team
Aug 1, 2019
I'm currently a first year student studying history and politics at the University of Warwick, I plan on doing a law conversion after graduation. Right now, I feel like I'm struggling in that direction. All of my first year scheme applications have failed and right now, I just don't see how I could get into a vacation scheme or training contract in the future. I have a decent amount of work experience, the only issue that most of them don't really correlate with law, they're more like applicable skills. This whole thing is confusing me. I try getting into internships and nothing works. I have entered into a few events which gave insight but they weren't like law firm schemes. I want the truth here, have I failed already?
Absolutely not. If anything you are ahead of the curve - you’ll likely find more success next year. Just keep at it - maybe do some virtual internships on platforms like Forage and consider getting involved in the law society or other law related extra curriculars next year.

About Us