Why didn't you get a vacation scheme in your second year of study?

Lauren

Legendary Member
Junior Lawyer
Nov 16, 2018
I'm a current third year student and I have an upcoming assessment centre at Hogan Lovells. I am worried that the difficult question of 'Why didn't you get a vacation scheme in your second year of study?' will come up. In all reality, it was because I was not entirely sure what firms I wanted to apply to or whether I wanted to apply to Leeds or London firms. Is this a reasonable answer to give?
(Obviously with a bit more detail, and what drove me now to choose London international commercial firms)

Reactions: v123

Abstruser

Legendary Member
Trainee
Jul 19, 2018
In all reality, it was because I was not entirely sure what firms I wanted to apply to or whether I wanted to apply to Leeds or London firms.

I had similar reasons for not applying for a single vac scheme until I graduated uni. I think that’s quite reasonable, as long as you flesh it out with good explanations!

Reactions: v123

v123

Valued Member
Jan 16, 2019
I'm a current third year student and I have an upcoming assessment centre at Hogan Lovells. I am worried that the difficult question of 'Why didn't you get a vacation scheme in your second year of study?' will come up. In all reality, it was because I was not entirely sure what firms I wanted to apply to or whether I wanted to apply to Leeds or London firms. Is this a reasonable answer to give?
(Obviously with a bit more detail, and what drove me now to choose London international commercial firms)
Hey Lauren,