lowen13

• Dec 2, 2022
    Hello everyone!

I am a non-law undergraduate in my final year of study - I am due to graduate this June.

I have been in conversation with a law firm who have suggested that I do a conversion course and SQE1 within one year, despite all other law firms leaving two years for conversion and SQE1/2, and start a TC in September 2024.

The proposed route is:
    1. ULaw PGDL + SQE1 Prep course
      • This would allow me to complete the 35 week conversion course, as well as the SQE1 prep and SQE1 exam before September 2024
      • However, there is a 2.5month overlap between the end of the conversion course and the SQE1 prep
    2. ULaw MA Law (Conversion) + SQE1 Prep course
      • This is essentially the same as option 1. but this route allows for postgraduate funding
      • However, along with the 2.5month overlap, I would also be completing the MA Dissertation module alongside the end of SQE1 prep and the SQE1 exam

If anyone has any advice or suggestions on this situation, especially those who have experience both the ULaw PGDL and SQE1, then I would be extremely grateful.

I personally love the idea, as it means I am able to start my TC a year earlier than originally thought. However, as this is not proposed by any other law firms I am hesitant as I assume the downside must be the workload of taking the SQE1 prep course before finishing the conversion course.

All the best!

W5690

Nov 4, 2019
    Hello everyone!

I am a non-law undergraduate in my final year of study - I am due to graduate this June.

I have been in conversation with a law firm who have suggested that I do a conversion course and SQE1 within one year, despite all other law firms leaving two years for conversion and SQE1/2, and start a TC in September 2024.

The proposed route is:
    1. ULaw PGDL + SQE1 Prep course
      • This would allow me to complete the 35 week conversion course, as well as the SQE1 prep and SQE1 exam before September 2024