Confused if I should continue or not for a TC is the question!

TCinpipeline

Distinguished Member
Gold Member
Premium Member
Oct 31, 2021
Hi - I am resuming my TCLA premium membership having been a member a year ago and wondered if someone can answer my questions as follows:-

1. Is there a deadline when my law degree and LPC will no longer be considered/accepted when applying for a training contract? I graduated from studying my law degree in 2011 and for the LPC in 2021.
2. I am limited to what law firms I can apply to on salary and looking for law firms not heavily focused on corporate and banking. I can't take a drop in salary due to having financial commitments. Will law firms accept me reapplying to them the following year if I am not success first time round? Also, what do they tend to look for in those that reapply?
3. I am a mature candidate with lot of legal work experience being a legal PA. Do firms not favour legal PAs applying for a TC? I have heard mixed feedback on this that they are only looking for fresh graduates. I cannot see this to be the case when law firms are open to career changers with transferable skills from other industries. I can only see that I am at an advantage with lots of knowledge of how law firms operate, etc. The firm I work currently at have graduates working as admin assistants to gain legal experience too.

I am getting very worried if I am unable to obtain a TC in the next year or so on the basis of my law degree getting dated now. I am also worried in terms of the limited firms not accepting me reapplying to them. I aim to apply to as many firms as I can this year with TCLA's help. However, I am wondering if I am the ONLY one with an old degree still applying and will my qualifications not be considered fresh/new compared to new graduates applying.